Home » News » Man Booker Prize 2015


Man Booker Prize 2015 short list announced


Marlon James, Tom McCarthy, Chigozie Obioma, Sunjeev Sahota, Anne Tyler and Hanya Yanagihara were announced on Tuesday 15 September as the shortlisted authors for the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

The judges remarked on the variety of writing styles, cultural heritage and literary backgrounds of the writers on the shortlist, which includes new authors alongside established names. Two authors come from the United Kingdom, two from the United States and one apiece from Jamaica and Nigeria.

This is the second year that the prize, first awarded in 1969, has been open to writers of any nationality, writing originally in English and published in the UK. Previously, the prize was open only to authors from the UK & Commonwealth, Republic of Ireland and Zimbabwe

The 2015 shortlist of six novels is:

Author (nationality)                  Title (imprint)

Marlon James (Jamaica)            A Brief History of Seven Killings (Oneworld Publications)

Tom McCarthy (UK)                  Satin Island (Jonathan Cape)

Chigozie Obioma (Nigeria)         The Fishermen (ONE, Pushkin Press)

Sunjeev Sahota (UK)               The Year of the Runaways (Picador)

Anne Tyler (US)                       A Spool of Blue Thread (Chatto & Windus)

Hanya Yanagihara (US)            A Little Life (Picador)


For more information about the nominated books and about the Prize, go to http://www.themanbookerprize.com/man-booker-prize-2015